Local Resources

Note: Many visitors to Lyon choose to fly into Paris and to take the TGV (the high-speed train) from Paris (either from the Gare de Lyon or directly from Charles de Gaulle Airport) to Lyon. The Paris-Lyon TGV takes approximately two hours.

French economic development and/or expansion agencies focus on attracting investment to specific areas, often through foreign companies who open offices in France. If you are a representative of an American company that is considering establishing a presence in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes or Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, you may wish to contact the appropriate local or regional economic development/expansion agency. These agencies provide a wide variety of services for foreign companies – consult the relevant websites for details.

Please note that due to the territorial reform these sites may no longer be active or may have changed.






Commercial Agents


Environmental/Energy Technology

Financial Services & Accounting

Information Technology and Communications


Medical and Biotechnology


Real Estate

Screw & Precision Machining

Small Business and Entrepreneurs


Transportation and Logistics

Wood Production/Forestry

Several important trade shows and partnering events take place in Lyon. Please consult the appropriate websites below for specific details.

  • BioSquare (biotechnology industry partnering)
  • Piscine (swimming pools)
  • Pollutec (environmental equipment and technology)
  • SIRHA (hotel catering and food trade)

Visit the following website, with information about the city’s facilities, amenities, infrastructure, tourist possibilities, and practical information for living in Lyon:


Departments of Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Ain (capital is Bourg-en-Bresse; departmental code 01)

Allier (capital is Moulins; departmental code 03)

Ardèche (capital is Privas; departmental code 07)

Cantal (capital is Aurillac; departmental code 15)

Drôme (capital is Valence; departmental code 26)

Isère (capital is Grenoble; departmental code 38)

 Loire (capital is Saint-Etienne; departmental code 42)

 Haute-Loire (capital is Le Puy en Velay; departmental code 43)

Puy de Dôme (capital is Clermont-Ferrand; departmental code 63)

Rhône (capital is Lyon; departmental code 69)

Savoie (capital is Chambery; departmental code 73)

Haute-Savoie (capital is Annecy; departmental code 74)


 Departments of Bourgogne-Franche-Comté

Côte d’Or (capital is Dijon; departmental code 21)

Doubs (capital is Besançon; departmental code 25)

Jura (capital is Lons-le-Saunier; departmental code 39)

Nièvre (capital is Nevers; departmental code 58)

Haute-Saône (capital is Vesoul; departmental code 70)

Saône et Loire (capital is Macôn; departmental code 71)

Yonne (capital is Auxerre; departmental code 89)

Territoire de Belfort (capital is Belfort; departmental code 90)

American Club of Lyon

Association France-Etats-Unis

France-Etats-Unis Grenoble


Sister Cities

  • Besançon – Charlottesville (Virginia) – Year signed: 2006
  • Chambolle-Musigny – Sonoma(California) – Year signed: 1960
  • Chamonix– Aspen (Colorado) – Year signed: 1987
  • Clermont-Ferrand– Norman (Oklahoma) – Year signed: 1994
  • Cluses– Beaverton (Oregon) – Year signed: 1998
  • Dijon– Dallas (Texas) – Year signed: 1957
  • Le Fontanil– Ponchatoula (Louisiana) – Year signed: 1988
  • Entrains-sur-Nohain – Saranac Lake(New York) – Year signed: 1989
  • Grenoble– Phoenix (Arizona) – Year signed: 1990
  • Joigny– Hanover (New Hampshire) – Year signed 1993
  • Lyon Louis (Missouri) – Year signed 1975
  • Mâcon– Macon (Georgia) – Year signed 1972
  • Meylan– Gonzales ( Louisinia) – Year signed 1986
  • Montbéliard – Greensboro (North Carolina) – Year signed 1964
  • Montélimar – Racine (Wisconsin) – Year signed 1957
  • Saint-Etienne – Des Moines ( Iowa) – Year signed 1985
  • Thonon-les-Bains – Mercer Island (Washingon) – Year signed 2000
  • La Verpillière – Tecumseh (Michigan) – Year signed 1984
  • Vienne – Greenwich (Connecticut) – Year signed 2007

Partnerships also exist on the regional level. The State of Kentucky has signed accords with the Region of Bourgogne, and the State of Pennsylvania has signed an accord with the Rhône-Alpes Region.

  • Chambolle-Musigny – Sonoma (California) – Year signed: 1960
  • ChamonixAspen (Colorado) – Year signed: 1987
  • Clermont-FerrandNorman (Oklahoma) – Year signed: 1994
  • ClusesBeaverton (Oregon) – Year signed: 1998
  • DijonDallas (Texas) – Year signed: 1957
  • Le FontanilPonchatoula (Louisiana) – Year signed: 1988
  • Entrains-sur-Nohain – Saranac Lake (New York) – Year signed: 1989
  • GrenoblePhoenix (Arizona) – Year signed: 1990
  • JoignyHanover (New Hampshire) – Year signed 1993
  • Lyon St. Louis (Missouri) – Year signed 1975
  • Mâcon – Macon (Georgia) – Year signed 1972
  • MeylanGonzales ( Louisinia) – Year signed 1986
  • Montélimar – Racine (Wisconsin) – Year signed 1957
  • Saint-Etienne – Des Moines ( Iowa) – Year signed 1985
  • Thonon-les-Bains – Mercer Island (Washingon) – Year signed 2000
  • La Verpillière – Tecumseh (Michigan) – Year signed 1984
  • Vienne – Greenwich (Connecticut) – Year signed 2007


Partnerships also exist on the regional level. The State of Kentucky has signed accords with the Region of Bourgogne, and the State of Pennsylvania has signed an accord with the Rhône-Alpes Region.