Consular District

The Marseille Consular District includes four French regions (Languedoc-Roussillon, Provence-Alps-Côte d’Azur –“ PACA”, Midi Pyrenees, and Corsica) which together make up 18 departments and the principality of Monaco, with a total population of more than 8 million people, some of 16% of France’s total population.

The territory covered by the consular district constitutes one of France’s most dynamic areas and is often dubbed the “French sun belt” because of its pleasant climate. Economic activity and population are increasing on a yearly basis as many new companies, both French and foreign (including many U.S. businesses) seek to locate there. Major cities are Marseille, Toulouse, Nice, Montpellier, Cannes, Aix-en-Provence, Toulon, Avignon, Perpignan, Ajaccio, Bastia and Monte Carlo. Principal economic activities are agro-industry, information technology, bio-technology, aviation, maritime transportation, petrochemicals, and tourism.