U.S. Consulate General Strasbourg


The Strasbourg Consulate General provides American Citizen Services (except passports and visas), supports American business, including over 120 resident U.S. firms, and creates educational, commercial and cultural exchanges between the United States and the northeastern French regions of Alsace (Departments of Haut-Rhin, Bas-Rhin), Lorraine (Moselle, Meurthe and Moselle, Meuse, Vosges), Franche-Comté (Doubs, Jura, Haute-Saône, and the Territoire de Belfort).

In addition to Strasbourg, it includes the major cities of Metz, Nancy, Epinal, Besançon, Colmar and Mulhouse.

It also provides information on U.S. policy to Permanent Representatives and Observers States to the Council of Europe, Consular Corps and to American and French citizens in the jurisdiction.

The Consulate General is the Strasbourg Office of the U.S. Permanent Observer to the Council of Europe, the United States Ambassador to France.

The Consul General is the Deputy Permanent Observer to the 47-member nation Council of Europe (founded in 1949 to promote democracy, respect for human rights and rule of law) and the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. Correspondence for the Permanent Observer should be addressed to the Consul General.